National track champions come out on top at Derby Arena

National Madison women's winners

Wed 30 Oct 2019

For the fourth year Derby Arena hosted both the National Madison and Omnium championships, which saw two spectacular days of racing in a single weekend.

Commonwealth and National Track Champions competed at Derby Arena for both titles. Athletes competing included Harry Tanfield, who came first in the team pursuit in the National Track Championships in 2018 and Rhys Britton who came first in the 2019 National Track Championship Points Race. The race for the women’s title included National Track Championships gold medallist, Anna Docherty and Scotland’s youngest national champion Jenny Holl.

After a thrilling Grand Prix which saw intense racing, the Grand Prix programme was finished with the Madison races. We saw Jenny Holl and Anna Docherty and Rhys Britton and Fred Wright crowned the national Madison champions. Holl and Docherty claimed the women’s title by just two points over Ella Barnwell and Amelia Sharpe, while Britton and Wright were completely dominant in the men’s event.

Madison male winners.jpg

On Sunday we saw the Omnium programme which was fiercely competed in both the male and female events. Following Saturday’s successful Madison, Rhys Britton took the first victory to establish an early lead. However, the men’s race became a masterclass in how to ride an Omnium by Ethan Hayter. With a positional error in the first race, Ethan made up for it in the remaining races showing world class endurance and speed to clinch the Men’s Omnium title. The Women’s Omnium saw a number of riders hold the first place position during the events but a consistent set of results backed up by a smart points race saw Ella Barnwell pull clear. It was Ella Barnwell who came out on top with Anna Docherty and Anna Morris taking second and third respectively.

 Omnium womens winners.jpgOmnium male winners.jpg

The weekend was a great success seeing thrilling and intense racing throughout the events.

If you’ve been inspired to ride the track, find out more about track cycling at Derby Arena here.


Women's Madison

1st Anna Docherty and Jenny Holl

2nd Ella Barnwell and Amelia Sharpe

3rd Eluned King and Sophie Lewis


Men's Madison

1st Reece Britton and Fred Wright

2nd Matti Dobbins and Alex Haines

3rd Alfie George and Max Rushby


Women’s Omnium

1st Ella Barnwell    

2nd Anna Docherty

3rd Anna Morris


Men’s Omnium

1st Ethan Hayter   

2nd Fred Wright      

3rd Rhys Britton