Event

Ancestories

Sat 23 Jul - Sat 20 Aug

Location: Derby Market Place, Markeaton Park Craft Village

Tickets: Free

About the event

A multi-art exhibition inspired by the wonderful city and people of Derby. Showcasing the work of 15 participants as they reveal their own journey of DNA discoveries exploring their cultural heritage that has inspired creative writing, art, music, mask making, and performance.

Who are you? Where did you come from? How did you end up here? Come explore the mobile multi-art exhibition held in a touring caravan at the Market Place and Markeaton Craft Village. This exhibition is the result of a participatory arts project exploring ancestral DNA in ethnically diverse citizens of Derby.

The Project and Exhibition
An unassuming caravan sits in different locations across Derby, but this is no ordinary caravan.This caravan is a travelling cave of interactive digital handprints left behind by community artists and performers, who want to tell you their stories. Their Ancestories...

Ancestories is a participatory arts project conceived by Paul Broesmith as part of Derby CAN. Over a period of nine months, 15 volunteers from different communities across Derby and Derbyshire developed art and a live performance inspired by their own ancestral DNA, genealogy, and introspective exploration. This journey saw the group work with professional artists and performers including, musicians, songwriters, dance choreographers, fight choreographers, mask makers, theatre-makers, and digital artists.

Their journey was guided by questions; Who are you? Where did you come from? How did you get here? What impact has Derby had on you and have you had on Derby? The work in this exhibition is their response to those questions and the enlightenment they found on their journey of ancestral DNA discovery. So visit the caravan, the cave and place your own hand on top of theirs and witness their work come to light.

Derby Market Place Sat 23rd Jul – Sun 7 Aug, open Thurs to Sun 10am – 4pm

Markeaton Park Craft Village Thu 11 Aug – Sat 20 Aug, open Thurs to Sun 10am – 4pm

Dates & Tickets

Ancestories

Sat 23 Jul 2022, 10am

Sun 24 Jul 2022, 10am

Thu 28 Jul 2022, 10am

Fri 29 Jul 2022, 10am

Sat 30 Jul 2022, 10am

Sun 31 Jul 2022, 10am

Thu 4 Aug 2022, 10am

Fri 5 Aug 2022, 10am

Sat 6 Aug 2022, 10am

Show all dates