Annual Derby Green Spaces Forum Awards 2019

Mon 2 Dec 2019

Annual Derby Green Spaces Forum Awards 2019

On Monday 25 November 2019, the Derby Green Spaces Forum (DGSF) met at the University of Derby for their annual award evening. The DGSF, formed in 2013, are made up of ‘friends of’ parks groups, allotment groups, the Derby Parks Team, the University of Derby, and Derbyshire Wildlife Trust all with a shared vision to improve local parks, green spaces and nature reserves. The effort put in by volunteers in Derby’s parks and allotments is second to none with a staggering 26,000 hours recorded last year alone.

Before the awards, there were presentations from Rodri Green of the Bumblebee Conservation Trust; Andrew Ramsey from the University of Derby; Julia Slater and  Elaine Crick of The Potty Plotters; and Sarah Webster and David Winslow from Derby Parks.

The award winners were:

Inspiring others to get involved –
Jo Dyer the Friends of Darley Open Spaces Wildlife Gardeners

Commitment to improving Green Space –
Earl of Harrington’s Angling Club

Commitment to improving allotments  -
Dawn Fletcher of Sinfin Moor Allotment Assoc.  

Award for Memorable moment in 2019! –
Alan Wragg of the Derbyshire Bat Group

Special Commendations:

John Bland - Sinfin Moor Park Local Nature Reserve

Julia Slater - Ashbourne Road & District Allotments

William Grange & Stephen Plant -  Friends of Allestree Park

Andy Twigge - BBC Radio Derby

Thank you to all groups who attended and a huge thank you to the award winners for their commitment and dedication to their local green space. A true inspiration!